Emma Husar - Australia Politics

After a scandal-plagued first term in federal parliament, ex-Labor MP Emma Husar has confirmed she won’t be contesting the May 18 election as an independent candidate.

The member for the western Sydney seat of Lindsay announced in August she would not be running as she faced an internal investigation into staff bullying allegations.

But she later hinted that she may recontest as an independent.

Minutes after Prime Minister Scott Morrison called an election, Ms Husar on Thursday posted a “thank you” note to the Lindsay electorate on social media.

She said it had been an honour and a privilege to serve as the seat’s first female Labor member, even though “our time together was brief”.

“Thank you for having faith in me and trusting me to represent you,” she wrote. “I’ll miss serving you, I’ll miss hearing your stories and helping in the tricky times. Your loyalty and your faith has always been appreciated.”

Labor’s new candidate for the seat is Diane Beamer, a former NSW state minister.

Melissa McIntosh is contesting the seat for the Liberals, after Fiona Scott lost the seat to Ms Husar in 2016 by a 1.1 per cent margin.

  • AAP

Guests Contributors

Guests Contributors: Freelance politics stories contributors for Politicoscope.com.

NOTE: The statements, views and opinions expressed in this column are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of Politicoscope.
Guests Contributors

Subscribe to Politics Breaking News

  • Stay up to date on news for: Emma Husar Quits May 18 Election
  • Get all the essential breaking news with expert analysis

Subscribe today

Find More News By Categories:

Support The Politicoscope

* We empower the voiceless. We offer them a free Politicoscope platform to express themselves globally.
* We expose the dark secrets of people in power: corrupt politicians, abusive police officers, and more.
* We provide you with free news content all year; all the time.

Together, we can promote a global human parity. Take action today. Donate to Politicoscope. Thank you.

* Politicoscope journalists are independent, non-partisan, impartial and not influenced by billionaire owners, politicians or shareholders.

Share Your Thoughts Now