Muhammadu Buhari - Nigeria Politics News Headline

Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari submitted his list of cabinet nominees to the upper house of parliament, the Senate, on Tuesday.

The submission comes almost two months after Buhari began his second term, and some five months after he was re-elected, a delay that caused jitters amongst investors and threatened growth prospects for Africa’s largest economy.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Subscribe to our daily curated newsletter to receive the latest of Politicoscope top politics stories delivered to your email inbox.

Subscribe to Newsletter

Subscribe to our daily curated newsletter to receive the latest of Politicoscope top politics stories delivered to your email inbox.

Parliament is due to go on a two-month break at the end of the week, although it could delay this to confirm the nominees.

Muhammadu Buhari list contains 43 names, though it did not specify which positions they would hold in cabinet.

Muhammadu Buhari Full List Of Ministerial Nominees

1) Okechukwu Oga from Abia State
2) Muhammadu Musa Bello from Adamawa
3) Senator Godswill Akpabio from Akwa Ibom
4) Senator Chris Ngige from Anambra
5) Sharon Ikpeazu from Anambra
6) Adamu Adamu from Bauchi
7) Ambassador Mariah Katagum from Bauchi
8) Timipriye Sylva from Bayelsa
9) Senator George Akume from Benue State
10) Mustapha Baba from Borno
11) Goody Eddy Agba from Cross Rivers
12) Festus Keyamo from Delta
13) Dr. Ogbonnayya Onu from Ebonyi
14) Dr. Osagie Ehinire from Edo
15) Clement Agba from Edo
16) Richard Adeniyi Adebayo from Ekiti
17) Geoffrey Onyema from Enugu
18) Ali Isa Ibrahim Patani from Gombe
19) Emeka Nwajuba from Imo
20) Suleiman H.Adamu from Jigawa
21) Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed from Kaduna
22) Dr. Muhammed Mahmood from Kaduna
23) Sabo Nanono from Kano
24) Major General Salihi Magashi (rtd) from Kano
25) Senator Hadhi Sirika from Katsina
26) Abubakar Malami from Kebbi
27) Ramatu Tijjani from Kogi,
28) Lai Mohammed from Kwara
29) Gbemisola Saraki from Kwara
30) Babatunde Raji Fasola from Lagos
31) Adeleke Mamora from Lagos
32);Mohammed Abdullahi from Nasarawa
33) Architect Olamilekan Adegbite from Ogun
34) Ambassador Zuberu Dada from Niger
35) Senator Tayo Alasoadura from Ondo
36) Rauf Aregbesola from Osun
37) Sunday Dare from Oyo
38) Pauline Tallen from Plateau
39) Rotimi Amaechi from Rivers
40) Muhammed Margarito Danhyaddi from Sokoto
41) Saleh Mamman from Taraba
42) Abubakar Ali from Yobe
43) Sadia Umar Farooq from Zamfara

The Senate has to approve nominees before they can become ministers, though the process can happen within a matter of days.

Buhari, a 76-year-old former military leader, faces a long list of challenges including tepid economic growth, high unemployment and widespread insecurity.

Thank you for visiting Share or comment on this story.
You May Also Like:   Women Urge Nigeria to Change 'Prehistoric' Politics

Subscribe to New Stories

Subscribe to our daily curated newsletter to receive latest Politicoscope news delivered to your email inbox.

* Unlock premium articles. Sign Up or Log In.


Donate now to help us provide more story like this.

More Donation Options

* Here are other Donation options for you.

* For Premium News readers, you can register here today.

Leave a Reply